< Troubleshoot your App
Help Center > General Questions > Troubleshoot your App

Close My Account

Copy link to clipboard

Need to close your account?

If you want to close your account, you can deactivate your Robinhood account in the app itself.

You can also view historical account statements, tax documents and trade confirmations in the app after your account has been deactivated.

How to deactivate your Robinhood account

If you want to close your positions and withdraw your funds:

You can request to deactivate your Robinhood account within the app:

  1. Tap the Account (person) icon
  2. Tap Settings
  3. Tap Account Information
  4. Scroll and tap Deactivate Account
  5. Follow the steps to close all your positions and withdraw your outstanding balance
  6. Once your balance is $0.00 and your positions are closed, you will be able to confirm your deactivation request.

If you need any assistance along the way, please contact us.

If you want to transfer your account to another brokerage:

  1. Choose where you’d like to transfer your account
  2. Submit a request to that brokerage to have your assets transferred out of Robinhood. If you transfer all of your assets out, we’ll automatically close your Robinhood account for you.

Finding your account records :

After your Robinhood account is closed, you’ll still be able to retrieve your account statements, tax documents, and trade confirmations in the app. Re-downloading the Robinhood app will not reactivate your account.

This is because regulations require us to preserve certain books and records. We take the security of all collected data extremely seriously, and we don’t intend to use this data for anything beyond the fulfillment of our regulatory requirements.

Reference No. 20201124-1425253-4320390

Still have questions? Contact Robinhood Support