Deactivate an account
You can deactivate your Robinhood account or transfer it to another brokerage.
After your account is deactivated or transferred, you'll still be able to access your statements, tax documents, and trade confirmations.
Make sure the account you want to deactivate has:
Additional requirements may apply depending on your account type.
To request deactivation of your self-directed individual investing account:
You can deactivate multiple individual investing accounts, but only your first (primary) individual investing account can be reactivated. If you deactivate your primary account, crypto trading will continue on your new default account, while futures trading will be lost and can only be restored by reactivating your primary account.
To request deactivation of your joint investing account:
We'll email you within 5–7 days to confirm your account has been deactivated or let you know if any additional steps are needed.
Joint investing accounts can't be reactivated. After you deactivate a joint investing account, you won't be able to open another joint investing account.
To request deactivation of your Robinhood IRA:
Withdrawing assets from an IRA may result in taxes or penalties.
If you close a managed account, you can't reactivate it or open another managed account of the same type. You can still open a different managed account type (for example, Roth or Traditional).
For details, see Managed account closure.
Unfunded custodial accounts may be deactivated. Funded custodial accounts have additional requirements because the assets legally belong to the minor. Once funded, the assets are an irrevocable gift to the minor and can't be transferred back to the custodian's personal account. The assets must remain in the custodial account until the Age of Termination (AoT) or be transferred to a new custodian.
Yes. Instead of selling your investments and deactivating your account, you can transfer the following Robinhood accounts to another brokerage:
If your transfer moves all assets out of your Robinhood account, we'll automatically close your account.
If you've resolved these issues and still can't deactivate your account, contact Robinhood support.
If you're only deactivating one of your Robinhood accounts and plan to keep others open, you may not need to cancel your Gold membership. Review the on-screen instructions during deactivation, or contact support if you're unsure how deactivating one account may affect your remaining accounts.
Most requests are processed within 1–2 weeks. We'll email you once your account has been deactivated or let you know if additional action is needed.
Yes. You can still sign in to access your statements, tax documents, trade confirmations, and other account records.
If you're a co-owner on an active joint investing account, deactivating your individual investing account may limit features on the joint account, including Robinhood Gold, Stock Lending, Brokerage Cash Sweep, and the ability to link new bank accounts or debit cards.
No. Deactivating your account doesn't delete your personal information, and requesting data deletion doesn't deactivate your account. To request data deletion, review Managing your personal information.
Reactivation eligibility varies by account type.
For reactivation eligibility, instructions, and troubleshooting, see Coming back to Robinhood.